SEARK College recently inducted twenty-two students into the Beta Gamma Mu chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK).   As part of the induction ceremony Dr. Janice Cook, Sociology instructor, was the guest speaker. Dr. Cook challenged the students to dream big and to use their time at SEARK to position themselves to accomplish great things.

This year’s new members include Sharon Ford of Rison, Ashlei Erwin of Pine Bluff, Summer Miller of Pine Bluff, Remona Davis of Pine Bluff, Kindra Bell of Pine Bluff, Lundon Deshazer of Monticello, Brandey Buggs of Dumas, Bradley Robinson of Star City, Moreo Wilson of  Marianna, Phyllis Monk of Pine Bluff, Billey Corley of White Hall, Shelby Stephens of Gould, Michael Gibson of Redfield and Yasma Griffin of Pine Bluff, Samantha Brann of Pine Bluff, Shania Cheatwood of Pine Bluff, RoxAnn Dozier of Little Rock, Dwayne Hayden of Pine Bluff, John Owasoyo of  Pine Bluff, Adam Watson of Pine Bluff and Joseph Wright from Pine Bluff.

Advisors for Phi Theta Kappa include JoNece Fields, Deb Pyland, Iry Rice, Shawn Willbanks, and Lozanne Calhoun.

To be considered for membership into PTK students must be pursuing an associate’s degree, have completed at least 12 hours and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates, and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually.

SEARK College Inducts New Phi Theta Kappa Members.
Photo Caption:  Pictured from left to right front row: Sharon Ford, Rison; Ashlei Erwin, Pine Bluff; Summer Miller, Pine Bluff; Remona Davis, Pine Bluff; Kindra Bell, Pine Bluff; Lundon Deshazer, Monticello; (back row) Brandey Buggs, Dumas; Bradley Robinson, Star City; Moreo Wilson, Marianna; Phyllis Monk, Pine Bluff; Billey Corley, White Hall; Shelby Stephens, Gould; Michael Gibson, Redfield; and Yasma Griffin, Pine Bluff. Not pictured: Samantha Brann, Pine Bluff; Shania Cheatwood, Pine Bluff; RoxAnn Dozier, Little Rock; Dwayne Hayden, Pine Bluff; John Owasoyo, Pine Bluff; Adam Watson, Pine Bluff; and Joseph Wright, Pine Bluff.