Finalists Announced for President of Southeast Arkansas College


Southeast Arkansas College (SEARK) is pleased to announce the selection of three finalists for the position of President of SEARK College. After an extensive search process, the finalists have been identified as follows (listed alphabetically):

  1. Dr. Tyrone Jackson, Ed.D.
    • Current Position: President, Mississippi Delta Community College, MS
    • Previous Experience: Vice President for the Utica Campus and Administrative Services and District Dean of Students, Hinds Community College, MS
    • Education: Ed.D. in Professional Studies/Educational Leadership; M.Ed. in Social Sciences/Sociology; B.S. in General Studies/Sociology (Delta State University)
  2. Dr. Douglas Miller, Ph.D.
    • Current Position: Senior Associate Vice President and Chief Campus Administrator, Utah State University Eastern, UT
    • Previous Experience: Assistant Professor of Management and Entrepreneurship, Virginia Commonwealth University, VA
    • Education: Ph.D. in Strategic Management and Entrepreneurship (Washington State University); MBA (University of Montana); B.S. (Utah State University)
  3. Dr. Dometrius Hill, Ed.D.
    • Current Position: Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs, Lee College, TX
    • Previous Experience: Associate Vice President Institutional Effectiveness and Research, Jarvis Christian College, TX
    • Education: Ed.D. in Higher Education Administration (Texas A&M University-Commerce); M.S. in Educational Leadership (Troy University); B.S. in Journalism (Prairie View A&M University)

To facilitate your engagement with the candidates, public forums will be held during the week of May 6. Each candidate will participate in two 1-hour forums, allowing ample opportunity for interaction and dialogue. The schedule for the open forums is as follows:

May 6, 2024:

  • Dr. Tyrone Jackson: Welcome Center – Training Center, 10:15-11:15 AM & 2:00-3:00 PM

May 9, 2024:

  • Dr. Douglas Miller: Welcome Center – Training Center, 10:15-11:15 AM & 2:00-3:00 PM

May 10, 2024:

  • Dr. Dometrius Hill: Welcome Center – Training Center, 10:15-11:15 AM & 2:00-3:00 PM

The SEARK College Board of Trustees will make the final selection from among the finalists in the coming weeks. The new President succeeds Dr. Steven Bloomberg, who served with distinction and dedication to SEARK College for six years beginning in 2018.

We extend our gratitude to the Presidential Search Committee for their diligent efforts throughout the selection process. Additionally, we thank the entire SEARK College community for their support and participation in this important endeavor.

For more information about the presidential search process and the finalists, please contact Wanda Grimmett at